Novel Musings |

opinionated reviews of fictional literature
RSS Feed
J.V. Jones
A Sword of Shadows - Book 4 - Watcher of the Dead by J.V. Jones

J.V. Jones continues to enthrall readers of her Epic Dark Fantasy series A Sword of Shadows. The aptly titled fourth novel, Watcher of the Dead, continues the story where it left off with Raif in possession of Loss as shadowy forces and groups continue to scheme and fight. The darkest novel in the series so far Watcher of the Dead masterfully draws the readers focus to the strife and hardship that all characters are enduring as the prison on the Endlords and their armies continues to crumble.

Roger Zelazny
The Great Book of Amber by Roger Zelazny

It is hard to know what to say about the amber novels by Roger Zelazny. To put things simply if you have not yet read these novels get them this instance and don’t stop reading until you have finished them all, after wards simply relax and dwell on Amber, Corwin, and the Shadows of Possibilities that lay beyond and between the pattern and chaos. A classic fantasy tale that can be enjoyed simply for its sword fights and magic, or for its deeper more compelling tale of self-discovery.

Patrick Rothfuss

The Name of the Wind, Day 1 of The KingKiller Chronicles. The name of this book and the series is what drew my attention however the world, characters, and story is what made me an avid fan. The Name of the Wind is the story of Kvothe, one man with many names and who knows the true names of things. This is his story of how he became who he is: Kvothe the Bloodless, Kvothe the Arcane, and Kvothe the KingKiller and what power there is in names.